Posts

Showing posts from May, 2008

Need help publishing a children's book?

Anyone interested in publishing a children's book should check out this site: www.institutechildrenslit.com
There will be a :
GUEST CHAT

Thursday, May 22 -- Harold Underdown
"Down the Publishing Path"
Harold Underdown, editor and writer of The Complete Idiot's Guide to
Publishing Children's Books will be with us to help us understand all
the
steps along the publishing path and how to walk it more smoothly. To
learn
more about Harold, check out http://www.underdown.org

Come and hear Harold:
Thursday evening, May 22, 2008
Send questions for Harrold to:
jan.fields@forums.institutechildrenslit.com or
WebEditor@institutechildrenslit.com.

9-11 p.m. Atlantic
8-10 p.m. Eastern
7-9 p.m. Central
6-8 p.m. Mountain
5-7 p.m. Pacific

I'm awake and oriented

Statement: I woke up this morning
Your response: Well duh, you are typing a blog.

I mean that I woke up this morning, actually last night. I had been walking around half-hearted in my attitude and reactions. I was reacting like myself to a lot of things going on around me. Last night (at bed time)God began to speak to me. I wanted to go to sleep, but God said that it was time to wake; that I had slept long enough. He told me that I have been living and acting out of the first eternal purpose of Jesus (that all men be saved). Yet I has stopped there, I was not moving into the second eternal purpose (that all come to be like Jesus). Van Morrison wrote and sang "clowns to the left of me, jokers to the right, here I am stuck in the middle with you." When I get stuck in the middle, I forget that there is more available to me. I am left wanting more...I want more of Jesus, I want more of Him and less of me, I want more grace to give to others, i want more kindness to pass around, I …

Unpacking…

Have you ever gone on a trip, and when it was time to leave you had more stuff than would fit in your luggage? That is how I feel this week after returning from my mountain retreat.
That is a sad statement however, according to Peter I should always be getting more in my suitcase.
“For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But if anyone does not have them, he is nearsighted...” (2 Peter 1:5-9) Peter lists various virtues that are necessary for avoiding spiritual myopia: myopia simply means nearsightedness. Unfortunately, my faith is often just too nearsighted.

Peter offers no explanation or description…